The EUROKARST Organization Committee recently announced that Chinese karst hydrogeologist, Yuan Daoxian, the Governing Board Member of the International Research Center on Karst (IRCK) under the auspices of UNESCO established in Guilin, Guangxi, China, was given a Lifetime Achievement Award by the Karst Commission of the International Association of Hydrogeologists (IAH).

EUROKARST, or the European Conference on the Hydrogeology of Karst and Carbonate Reservoirs, is held every two years. This year’s event took place in Spain between June 22 and 25.

The other two scientists receiving awards were Serbia’s Petar Milanovic and Canada’s Derek Ford, they are also the Governing Board Members of IRCK.

Yuan, who is also a karst ecological geologist, and karst geomorphologist, works for the Institute of Karst Geology under the China Geological Survey, first proposed karst dynamics theory and developed modern karstology.

作者 admin_philip